CYC Celebrates Outstanding Students

July 8, 2019

Recently, Cincinnati Youth Collaborative (CYC) held its annual Outstanding Student Celebration. Each year, CYC students are nominated for exemplifying CYC's core values of passion, integrity, accountability, empowerment and community.

At the Outstanding Student Celebration, CYC featured an alumni panel to speak on the challenges and excitement that first-generation college students face during the transition from high school. The discussion was moderated by long-time CYC community partner, Mark Romito, from the AT&T Foundation.

This year's nominees have faced and overcome numerous obstacles. Graduating with admirable grades and clear post-secondary plans, including training programs, two-year programs and four-year universities.

This year's honorees were: Jose-Jonathan Arthur (Norwood High School Graduate), Gabrielle Behrmann (University of Cincinnati Blue Ash Student), BreAnna Cade (Gamble High School Graduate), Akira Fletcher (Gamble High School Graduate), Da'shawn Gibson (Withrow University Graduate), Alejandra Gonzalez Gonzalez (Dater High School Graduate), Sanisha Gray (Withrow University Graduate), Sam Howard (University of Cincinnati Blue Ash Student), Genecia Hunter (Aiken High School Graduate), Sophia Issacs (Norwood High School Graduate), Kirsten Izaguirre (Dater High School Graduate), Justin Alan Jackson Jr (Dater High School Graduate), Fernando Lopez (Dater High School Graduate) Kenneth Lyle (Shroder High School Graduate), Jacob Moore (Norwood High School Graduate), Elissa Mowery (University of Cincinnati Blue Ash Student), Andrew Oeters (University of Cincinnati Blue Ash Student), Tiara Taylor (Shroder High School Graduate), Angel Thomas (University of Cincinnati Blue Ash Student), Brianna Triblett (Aiken High School Graduate), Michael Vannest (University of Cincinnati Blue Ash Student) and Jeffrey Williams. Jr. (Hughes STEM High School).

Four of the nominees, Jose-Jonathan Arthur, Akira Fletcher, Elissa Mowery and Brianna Triblett have been selected to receive the CYC Outstanding Student Award — a $1,000 scholarship and a laptop courtesy of for their post-secondary pursuits. The awards will be officially presented at the 2019 Dream Makers Celebration to be held on October 3 at Music Hall.

Read about the nominees at